Wright State University

Named after the aviation pioneers Orville and Wilbur Wright who invented the world’s first successful airplane, Wright State University will celebrate its 50th Anniversary in 2017. The University serves nearly 18,000 students, offering more than 230 undergraduate, graduate, doctoral, and professional degrees through eight colleges and three schools.

The University is located in a beautiful 557-acre wooded setting 12 miles northwest of downtown Dayton. The Wright State tunnel system is believed to be one of the most extensive collegiate pedestrian tunnel systems in the United States. Nearly two miles of tunnels snake their way beneath campus to make nearly every academic building accessible in any weather to people with limited mobility.

Several academic programs at the University have a keen interest in aviation. The Department of Psychology is one of eight departments in the College of Science and Mathematics. The Department of Psychology offers programs from Bachelors through Doctoral degrees in Psychology. At the Graduate level, the program focuses on Human Factors and Industrial/Organizational Psychology. The faculty also participates in the Neuroscience track of the interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. program.

The Department of Biomedical, Industrial & Human Factors Engineering is one of four departments in the College of Engineering and Computer Science. The Department offers undergraduate, master, and doctoral degrees. Their PhD in Engineering program has two research foci: Industrial and  Human Systems and Medical and Biological Systems.

As part of the Boonshoft School of Medicine, the Aerospace Medicine program offers an Aerosapce Medicine Residency and Master’s Program. It is the oldest civilian aerospace medicine training program in the United States. Since its inception in 1978, the program has attracted students from all over the world

The Wright State University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives has earned international respect for its efforts to collect, preserve, and make available the history of aviation, the local and regional history of the Miami Valley of Ohio and the university's history. In 1973, Wright brothers’ niece Ivonette Wright Miller presented the Wright Brothers Collection to the university’s library that is now home to the largest Wright brothers collection in the world. Perhaps the most valuable part of the collection are the thousands of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane and the lives of the Wright Family. Also of interest are the Collections of aviation psychologists, Ross A. McFarland, Stanley N. Roscoe, and Malcolm L. Ritchie.

Wright State University enjoys many partnerships with local, state, national and international entities. Wright-Patterson Air Force Base is a particularly significant partner in many ways. The Air Force donated the land on which Wright State University sits to the State of Ohio to establish the University in the early 60's. Today, many members of the faculty from the University and researchers from the Air Force Research Laboratory and the Naval Medical Research Unit–Dayton at the Air Force Base continue the collaborative tradition in numerous scientific and technological development endeavors.